About the Post

Author Information

Pâté Anyone?

Well lets start off first by saying for anyone who doesn’t like Pâté, this post probably isn’t for you, but hey I can’t please everyone.

Moving on for the rest of you, I wanted to share the recipe I used for making Pâté, and how it turned out. The story behind why I made pâté is because we had fabricated a number of duck breast, legs and thighs, and in the process gathered a good amount of livers and duck fat. I asked my chef if he had any plans for them and if not could I make pâté? I did this for two reasons first I really like pâté, and second because I wanted to see how much I could do. My Instructor was very much ok with this and told me to bring in or create a recipe for it. After a little bit of looking around I came up with the following recipe

  • 3 ounces duck fat
  • 1 large shallot, peeled and coarsely chopped (2 1/2 tablespoons)
  • 1 duck liver (about 3 ounces), cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1/4 teaspoon herbes de Provence (savory, fennel, basil, and thyme)
  • 1 clove garlic, peeled and crushed
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon bourbon
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 16 1/4-inch-thick horizontal slices from a small baguette, toasted 1. Place duck fat in a skillet, and cook over medium to high heat for 4 to 5 minutes, until the fat has melted and some of it has browned.

2. Add the shallots, and cook for about 30 seconds, stirring occasionally. Add the liver, herbes de Provence, and garlic, and cook over medium to high heat for 1 1/2 to 2 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the salt and pepper.

3. Transfer the mixture to a blender, add the Bourbon, and Heavy Cream, and blend until liquefied. If a finer textured pâté is desired, push the mixture through the holes of a strainer with a spoon. Let cool for at least 1 1/2 hours, then cover and refrigerate until serving time.

4. Spread the pâté on the toasted baguette slices, and serve.

So I walk in to class thinking I’m going to be making a small amount for my class and chef to taste, little did I know how wrong I was. I was told to use all the duck liver we had and even a little bit of the chicken liver we had left and that I would be making a presentation of the pâté for everyone at lunch the next day (today 10/14/2010). So I go thinking I’m going to make about a cup, to making 7.5lb’s… the only direction I’m given is just make it taste good. So I got to have full control of everything, and with only a little bit of pride I think it turned out fantastic.

For the presentation I toasted baguette with olive oil, and served the pâté with capers, gherkin pickles and red wine glazed grapes. I had made the pâté the day before but the grapes and baguette were done today before lunch, where I was once again given room to play. Everyone who tried my pâté liked it, and even some of the people who don’t normally like pâté said it was better than any they had before. For myself a least I would say that it is extremely rich and has a nice creamy mouth feel. With as rich and creamy as it is, you still get the taste of the duck liver. As the saying goes I struck gold on the first try, and would not change anything about this recipe. So if you like liver and even more so pâté, give it a try, and please enjoy.

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Comments on “Pâté Anyone?”

  1. Grandma October 14, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    I love Pate’ and my mouth is watering. I have never seen a recipe that I thought was worth trying, but this sounds wonderful. How many did it feed if you just made the recipe?

  2. leaf52 October 14, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    Boy, that’s some recipe conversion! (In terms of increasing quantities from 1 cup to 7.5 lbs!). At some point, you could provide info on how to do that for inquiring readers who want to know. 🙂

    Congrats on a successful play day!!

  3. Grant Klover October 14, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    It makes about a cup to a cup and a half

    as for recipe conversions I’ll make a bigger post about how to do so and explain it as best as I can. Once you get the hang of how to do it, converting recipes becomes very easy.
    The basic idea is very simple however it is the new yield(how much the recipe makes)/ the old yield. This gives you the recipe conversion factor.
    putting #’s to it you have a batch of cookies that makes 2lb’s of dough and you want to make 1lb of dough. Meaning 1/2 or .5 is the conversion factor. you take this # times each ingredient aka 1# of flour would be .5 of a lb of flour.

Leave a Reply

