About the Post

Author Information

What Day Is It?

I made a list of goals before I left for Jupiter. In case some of you missed them, they can be found here. As you can see, one of my goals has been to update or post something on my blog here 3 times per week and sadly looking back I can see that I haven’t done this. This is not for lack of things to talk about or because I’m having writer’s block; in fact it is far from it. I am constantly thinking about things I would like to post about on my blog and tell all of you about but I have run in to a strange and interesting problem down here at Jupiter. I don’t know what day it is.

No, really, what day is it? I’m not talking about the date because I am well aware that it is December 25th, 2010 But I could not tell you what day of the week it is. This is a new thing for me as I always use to know what day and date of the week it is. I always know the date because I have to write it on labels all day long, but the days have blurred together in to a block of just time.

I’m making this sound like it is a bad thing but in all honesty it is not a bad thing at all. I have no clue what the day is because I am not paying attention to the days of the week. I wake up, go eat in the staff kitchen, and then go to work. I run around the kitchen doing whatever I’m asked to do and poking my nose into what everyone else is doing so that I can learn little bits from all the projects we have going on. After this, I go back to my room and read a little or maybe go out with the kitchen staff for a few drinks.

Another problem that I have run in to in updating my blog is that the internet connection down here is only so-so. It’s all wi-fi but this is a bit of a problem seeing as how the “dorms” are all hurricane proof concrete reinforced with steel that makes getting a signal problematic at times. Not just wi-fi but also cell reception. Other than this it is a fantastic place to work at and I love it.

*Warning the next part is bragging about the weather*

Ok so if you are still reading then I have to talk about the weather down here. I know almost everyone reading this is in the cold grip of winter, if not freezing. And for this next part I’m sorry, but…. Living down here is awesome, every day so far it’s been in the mid 50’s to 70’s and I have had clear blue skies with a light breeze. When not at work I walk around in a T-Shirt, jeans, and flip-flops. The fact that the ocean is only a two-minute walk away from my door is nice as well.  Yeah I know, hard winter life right?

While I may have lost track of what day of the week it actually is, I still am having a blast down here in Jupiter. It has it’s moments of craziness, but everywhere does. Jupiter is starting to pick up and we are in full swing for the holidays and the New Year. We will slow down a little bit after the first of the year, but then be right back in the thick of it all as spring break hits us.

Until next time Chef Fans.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Comments on “What Day Is It?”

  1. Grandma December 26, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    Grant, I’m loving reading about what is going on, and yes, very familiar with Florida weather at Christmas. Better than Christmas in Vermont, freezing weather, right. Keep having fun and enjoying what you are doing. We missed you Christmas though and your wonderful way of telling stories and making us all laugh. Ally was our source of entertainment and she kept us busy, Love you.

  2. Tori December 26, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

    I’ll keep you informed on what day it is, don’t worry. My good morning texts will now include a “today is _____” at the end of it! Lol. Glad you’re keeping up with the craziness. We are about to get hit with a blizzard, so I am jealous of the nice weather you’re enjoying.

  3. Cre December 28, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    Something that I found helpful when in peru, was to carry around a small notebook, something just to jot down notes on what I wanted to later post about. You could possibly do this at work, maybe not when your in a cooking rush or when you need to keep your hands clean, but still a small notebook might be beneficial to help organize your thoughts. I would like to hear more about the location, describe your room, the view, the beach, the club if you can. maybe nothing specific but definitely an overview. Pretty Please =D

    • Grant Klover December 29, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

      Well since you asked so nicely, I’ll make a post about it. First about the notebook idea, I actually already carry one with me and do take little notes about post ideas.

Leave a Reply

