About the Post

Author Information

I Love the French…

What do you get when you have a French Master Chef, 6 interns all from NECI, and a tasting menu? Well, for starters, you get pictures… Oh yes you read correct chef fans- pictures! Alright, first thing’s first, I want to make it very clear that none of this food is my own. I was simply helping Chef Michel Personnaz. They are his recipes and menu, and these pictures are posted with his full knowledge and approval. I will point out the items that I helped with, but for the most part this is going to be a picture post.

Lets just start off with the with all the pictures shall we? I will be posting them in order of the menu, with descriptions under them or maybe to the right or the left depending on the size. You will also see my own ideas about this dishes as well. With that being said, let’s have some fun. Starting with the…

Apéritifs (h’orderves)

Poached Quail Eggs in Wine Maker Sauce in Spoon

Smoked Salmon Purse with Crème Fraiche and Caviar

Mini Pâté en Croûte with Foie Gras 

Alright how many of my readers thought I would stop and talk about this one? I thought as much. Many of you know that I love Pâté. When I saw chef pull fresh Foie Gras out of the fridge I went to investigate. I watched my chef make this over the last few days leading up to getting to taste it today. This was fantastic! The Foie Gras and Pâté  are in the middle, and the jello looking items are just that, jello- but a beef consomme port wine demi jello-ten that was poured into the Pâté en Croûte before it was put in the fridge to cool and set up. While I didn’t have a hand in the making of this in any way I did get to watch how it was done, and I took lots of notes…

Appetizers

Escargot Casserole -cooked in casserole topped with puff pastry

After the interns and chef tasted, and a glimpse of some of the inside.

First Plate

Stuffed Sander with Sole Mousse with Crayfish Velouté

I actually got to help build and plate this dish. I helped cook off the spinach that was stuffed inside, as well as help stuff them. When it came time to plate this dish, along with the other main dishes, tonight I was on Garnish. That being said I plated up the micro greens you see on this plate.

Main Course

Herb Roaster Lamb Saddle Stuffed With Truffle Wrapped in Savoy Cabbage Minted Green Peas Drops, Pomme Soufflé, Burgundy Sauce

So with this dish I made the mint pea drop that you see on the plate. (yes the green swoop) It was a very easy garnish to make and it went very well with the lamb. As I said before I also got to help plate this garnish, so that green swoop in the picture is all my doing. Alright, yes, chef watched and tasted every step of the way, but still…

Fromages

Mache Salad with Olive Oil

Fresh French Baguette with Three Cheese

Banon Leaf (top right wedge shaped one with the leaf under it)

Epoisse (the rectangular one standing on end in the middle of the cheeses)

Comté (the pie shaped one on the top left)

Sadly I didn’t get to try a full cheese as we did not end up with extra of them, but of the few bits and pieces of cheese I did get to try were delicious. This wont come as a surprise to anyone, I want more…

Dessert

Cassis Sorbet on Crispy Almond Cake (the farther back item)

Cassis Meringue Fingers (the purple-ish, well, finger)

Grand Marnier Chocolate Ganache on Butter Cookie (the item in the foreground of the picture)

That was it. Like I said it wasn’t that big of a deal, but there is something else that I very much feel like I need to point out. While, yes, all of the interns helped put this menu out and we all had our hands in the final project in one way, shape or form, Chef could have and HAS put this whole menu out by himself. Of everything that I have had the chance to do while on internship so far this has definitely been the best time so far. The amount of things that I learned, not to count the amount of notes I took tonight, made the time fly by. Just like with the mod dinner we all lined up and walked out to the dining room to receive Chef Michel Personnaz’s and our own applause…

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Comments on “I Love the French…”

  1. creklover January 21, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    wow the food looks great, I started drooling at the smoked salmon, that one looks AMAZING! are the appietizers and H’orderves bigger than the entree? and why was he “finger” purple?

  2. Tori January 21, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    The pictures look even better on the computer than when you texted them to me! I swear I’d die if I ate all this, I think my heart would stop. I’m glad you had a fun night!

  3. leaf52 January 21, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    Everything looks beautiful! I would love to try amost every bit (minus the lamb,being a vegetarian who eats fish). The escargot casserole looks like really nice comfort food to me, who currently is in teen degrees buried in snow. Thanks for sharing the pictures!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. So I had an Idea… | Grant Klover's Portfolio - January 23, 2011

    […] Grant Klover's Portfolio NECI and beyond: Chasing a dream, and making it a reality. Skip to content HomePersonalBioEducationPeer TutorMod 1  (July,12-October, 3 2010)Cooking Theory (July 07- August 08, 2010)Baking 1 (August 09- August 29, 2010)Table service and Intro to Wines (August 30- September 19, 2010)Product Identification (September 20- September 26, 2010)Sanitation & Food Safety (taken all of Mod 1)Academic Classes (taken all of Mod 1)Mod 2 (October 4, 2010- January 2, 2011)Introduction to Meat Fabrication (October 4- October 24, 2010)Culinary Basics and the Production Kitchen (October 25,- November 14, 2010)Intro to A La Carte Cooking: Lunch (November 15 -December 5, 2010)French Classic Cuisine (December 6- December 26, 2010)Academic Classes (taken all of Mod 2)InternshipsFirst Internship (Jupiter Island Club)Goals for Jupiter Island ClubProfessionalACFEventsCompetitionsResumeProfessional DevelopmentCooking DiscussionCulinary Book List ← I Love the French… […]

Leave a Reply

