About the Post

Author Information

So I had an Idea…

A few days ago I helped Chef out with a tasting menu for a wine event, and if you haven’t read this post you don’t know what you’re missing. No really I mean missing it’s all done and the foods all gone… This little event got me to thinking about what I would be able to do on my own, and as I started thinking I put together the following menu. You may see some similar ideas to my Chef but that is who I have been watching so that is only to be expected. Before I present the Menu I want to ask you all to do something for me. Please comment with your ideas, thoughts, or just comments, or even questions. I ask this because I have never done this before and want to get better at it, and two I want to see what your opinions are. I will be answering questions and responding so feel free to ask or provide feedback.

THE MENU…
A tasting Menu to pair Gorgonzola and Sautern

Appetizer

Escargot paired with a Wild Mushrooms Medially in a Wine Cream Sauce, and served in a Puff Pastry Tart

Served alongside a small arugula salad on top of a gorgonzola pita chip with olive oil and peeled cherry grape tomatoes to garnish.

First Plate

Wine Lemon Chicken Brest Tenderloin on a bed of Penne Pasta with a Clam Mussel Wild Mushroom Volute, garnished gorgonzola cheese

Intermezzo

Espresso ice, with a Mint Foam

Main course

Grilled Pork Tenderloin Crusted in Black Pepper, served on top of a Sweet Corn Puree and Southwest Béarnaise

Served with a Gorgonzola Potato Gnocchi and a Green Bean Mushrooms sauté, garnished with toasted almond slices

Dessert

 

A Dark Chocolate Coated Fig stuffed with Gorgonzola Cheese, with a Roasted Honey Butterscotch Sauce and Mango Sorbet

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Comments on “So I had an Idea…”

  1. leaf52 January 24, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

    Wow, it all sounds good!!

    Couple of initial thoughts.

    1 – I myself am not big on sweet wines, and I’m not sure how many people are, so that could make difference in your audience. That being said, gorgonzola w/ sweet wine would make a good combination.
    2 – The expresso in the intermezzo hit me as being too strong, a bit harsh. Coffee flavor can last a long time on the tongue; not sure I’d want it in the middle of the meal. Perhaps change it and the mango sorbet at the end?
    3_ gorgonzola potato gnocchi sounds fabulous. When can you make some for me? 🙂
    4-sweet corn puree was not appealing to me. Seemed like maybe too much sweetness, not enough color, imho.
    5-anyone who has time and energy to peel grape cherry tomatoes is a bit over the top, or perhaps just extremely, crazily dedicated to their art!!

  2. Grant Klover January 24, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    @mom-
    1. I started out thinking I wanted to work with Gorgonzola cheese, so i picked a wine that would pair with the cheese and worked from there. Also with the wine being a sweet component to my dishes that allows me to be a little bit stronger on the more earthy flavors, or that was my thought anyway.
    2. That was my thought as well but I think that turning it in to an ice (fluffing the espresso while it freezes with a fork so that it creates a bunch of tiny ice crystals threw out making a litter ice) will help turn the flavor into a subtle flavor that hints at the upcoming bitterness that the grilling and pepper crust will have in the main dish.
    3. how about when I get home?
    4. humm I was thinking that I needed a sweet component to the dish as it was lacking that because I’m not making any wine sauce. my idea was to first grill the corn to cook it and then cut the corn from the cob and cook them both in a pot with some onions and a little bit of wine to extract all the flavor I can from them. I would take the cobs out and then put it in a blender and then pass it threw a tam to get the fibers and chunks or husk out.
    5. peeling them is actually a very easy job so it’s not that crazy

  3. Grandma January 25, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    Okay, now you’ve done it, my mouth is watering. When you cook it for MOM I want to be there, I have no objection to the sweeter wine with the cheese, I think that’s a good accomptiment I love the sounds of the corn and also the gonnoci. Wondering if there is too much garganzola, manbe incorporate nother flavor somewhere along the way. But, hay, it sounds marvelous just the way it was.

    • Grant Klover January 25, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

      @Grandma-
      That was a concern of mine as well but since it is a tasting menu based around gorgonzola cheese I can’t leave it out. That is why you see it used in minor rolls in the first two dishes.

Leave a Reply

