About the Post

Author Information

So I Have an Idea but it has Grown and Changed a Bit…

As some or most of you know the other day I posted a menu that I had put together from just watching my chef. I also asked for feedback and opinions on the menu, and from the people who did comment, if you left it on my blog or called/texted me about it I say thank you. To everyone else (yes I’m looking at you Facebook friends, and NECI readers) you now have a second chance as based off of the feedback I received the first time around I have made some changes and cleaned up the dishes a little bit more.  Even if you hate the sound of everything on the menu please tell me that, I am asking/begging for feedback, comments, tips, opinions, ect. on this menu because I want to get better at not only writing them, but I am also trying to learn how to do this by teaching myself and if I’m the only one critiquing myself I wont learn. If you would like to look at the old menu it can be found here and down below is the new menu for you all…

A tasting Menu to pair Gorgonzola and Sautern

  • Sautern, (Sweet wines produced in the Bordeaux region of France from sémillon grapes blended Sauvignon Blanc and Muscadelle. ) with all courses

Appetizer

Escargot paired with a wild mushrooms medley in a gorgonzola cream sauce, and served in a puff pastry tart

Salad

Arugula and frisée salad on top of gorgonzola pita chips with olive oil and roasted honey vinaigrette, peeled cherry grape tomatoes and diced grilled mango to garnish

First Plate

Poached swordfish stuffed with a gorgonzola and fresh-herb mousse, with a clam, mussel and wild mushroom volute, severed atop a potato rösti

Intermezzo

Lemon ice with mint foam

Main course

Grilled pork tenderloin crusted in black pepper, served on top of a grilled sweet corn purée and southwest Béarnaise

Served with a gorgonzola potato gnocchi and a green bean mushrooms sauté, garnished with toasted almond slices

Dessert

A dark chocolate coated fig, stuffed with gorgonzola cheese, with mango sorbet and a roasted honey butterscotch sauce

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Comments on “So I Have an Idea but it has Grown and Changed a Bit…”

  1. Karen Nevin January 27, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    Grant – Yum! I think the new version is wonderful. I agree about the peeled grape tomatoes – amazingly fussy and I can’t figure out why they need to be peeled! The changes to your app and salad seem perfect. I’d order that easy. I notice a lot of wild mushrooms. I LOVE wild mushrooms but it seems like they keep coming back. Do they need to be in the green bean saute? (makes me think of Christmas green bean casserole) And my only other comment, the corn puree and bearnaise sauce seems like a lot of yellow creamy things on the plate. (but I agree with your mom – I want some gorgonzola gnocchi!

    Just my two cents. I love reading your posts. I’m so glad you’ve kept it up while on your internship!

    • Grant Klover January 27, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

      @ Karen
      The wild mushroomspair very well with the gorgonzola cheese, and while yes it is in three dishs, I think they are needed to balance out the gorgonzola. I thought about pulling them out of the main course but that left me wanting something more with the green beans.
      As for the two sauces while yes they are similar in color they have to distinct tastes, and bot pair nicely with the pork. Combined together you have a sweet, a little bit of bitter and a little bit of spicy.

  2. Grandma January 27, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    Lucky you, getting to spend time with MOM, I know she’s looking forward to your time together. I love Garganzola cheese, so whatever you do with it sounds wonderful. That’s one of Gpa’s favorites also. About the greenbeans how about just steaming them until still crisp and putting mushrooms on top to serve and no cheese if Karen thinks it reminds her of greenbean casserole. Maybe they don’t need anything else. other than butter and s/p

Leave a Reply

