About the Post

Author Information

Let Them Eat Cake….

Ok, so, this really has nothing at all to do with cake but it was the first French quote that I could think of.  Yes, that quote is French, and was said by Marie Antoinette and is said to have been an influencing factor that started the French Revolution. Do we see where I am going with this yet? *psst* this is about my FRENCH final…

No, really it is… Alright let’s get the boring Cuisine Overview Rhone Aples report out of the way…. you know one day these are going to be read by someone other than my chef instructors/ teachers and someone is going to learn something, I bet my knife on it….

Lets get on to the fun part of the final- oh and me telling you what the class was all about… So really this class while teaching you about how items and dishes taste together it teaches us in a very broad sense, how to research a style or region of a cuisine. It also teaches us that different regions cook differently because of what they could grow and use in their part of the country. For the US think Midwest, and Southern, they are regional styles of cooking that use items that naturally grow in those states. With all of that in mind I created this menu using these items from the Rhone-Alpes region. *psst* it has pictures….

Appetizers

Cervelle de canut

Starch Dish

Comté Polenta

Vegetable Dis

Chard w/ spinach and garlic

Protein Dish

Poulet au Vinaigre a l’Estragon

Desserts

Apple, Pear, and Apricot Rissoles 

This was the meal that I prepared for my final project in my French Classic Cuisine Class, and this was served as the lunch meal for everyone to have down at School Street. I was very happy with how everything turned out. I included the recipe’s influence link, to give everyone an idea how I got my ideas. I mostly just used this as a guideline and tried to make it using the title and cooking methods I learned from both JIC and this class.

Feel free to try them out yourself or if you have questions please ask, they are very good recipes. However, more than just making the menu from our research we also had to come up with an order list and place the order for our menu. We had help with this yes but this was really a project working every part of the menu. It was a great way to get back into NECI after internship and I can’t wait to start my next set of classes.

Save room Chef Fan’s- Mod 3 is about to start and it’s going to be an awesome time. Tapas is on fire next so lets crank this up to 11….

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Comments on “Let Them Eat Cake….”

  1. Grandma July 6, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    I love your style and hoping to try some of the recipes

  2. Grandma July 6, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    Can’t find the recipes .

Leave a Reply

