About the Post

Author Information

Sweet Tooth…

Well they don’t call it Plated Desserts for nothing Chef Fan’s. This whole first week of class has been getting ready for today which was an Open House for the potential new students for the school. The school closed down the restaurant for lunch and set up a bunch of different stations and demos for kids and there parents to come look at and see if NECI was the right fit for them. They also got to ask the students who are in the classes putting on the demos questions about the school. Since my class is in Plated Desserts right now we got the job of making all of the dessert items we wanted to for the event. I say we but the task was assigned to myself and another member of my block. We got help when our other block members where able to help out but for the most part it was just him and myself working on the pictures you are about to see. The other members of our block had other things they had to do for class like making breads and the normal desserts for the line the week leading up to the event.

Now I am not going to take credit for the recipes at all as all we did was take a basic recipe from a book and add our own twist on it. The ideas for what we ended up doing where the two of our’s and I would be happy to tell you what changes we made if you really want to know but as they are not mine I will not be posting as recipes. Lets get on to the good stuff first shall we…

Sorry for the “drunken” angle of this picture but this was the set up of our station. We had the length of the bar as you can see and we used it.a bit of a better angle looking down on the display from up the steps. Moving right into the sweets… First we have a brown butter pumpkin cupcake with a cinnamon and nutmeg cream cheese frosting…German Chocolate Cake… ok yes they are lope sided and mismatched but you try and bake a cake on warped and un-even sheet trays…Cranberry Apple Gingerbread Tarts… they have blue lavender as a garnish and they taste really great… I am going to have to give tori credit for giving me the idea for this one. it is a Cherry stuffed Coconut Macaroon dipped in chocolate…These are Buckeye’s and really who doesn’t love peanut butter and chocolate?This picture is of the two “favorites” of the day, the cupcakes we have already seen but what is next to them are “Black Forest Truffles” or as everyone was saying all day “Oh My God!”

I made 100 of the truffles and an hour before the end of the event (11am-3pm) they where all gone… I guessed people really liked them…For now Chef Fan’s that is all I have for you but I will keep you posted as next week hopes to be much better, and sweeter….

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 Comments on “Sweet Tooth…”

  1. Tori November 19, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    YUM! I cannot wait to eat these.

  2. leaf52 November 20, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

    Oh YUM!!! You know I love desserts anyway and I am hungry as I am reading this so they all look and sound really good esp the Black Forest truffles and the buckeyes. I like the chocolate dipped macaroon idea but I myself am not big on cherries so would prefer a different stuffing like maybe apricotsor raspberries? But that’s just me. Good overall idea!

  3. Grandma November 22, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    Hi, Grandma here. You know I love chocolate deserts and the truffles sound absolutely wonderful. My mouth is watering. Maybe I can get that recipe.

  4. Gwynn Grady November 22, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    I am challenged to bake one dessert! The layout of the desserts is beautiful and very tempting. I is not difficult to understand why the Black Forest truffles were all eaten as they looked absolutely delicious.
    I am a friend of you grandmother and she is so very proud of you for your enthusiasm you show in what you do

  5. Cre November 23, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    Wow Grant, everything looks so good! Ur sweets could rival even mine!

    • Grant Klover November 24, 2011 at 10:45 am #

      I don’t know about that mine are from a book and I don’t know if I can really call them mine because all I did was fallow the recipe…

Leave a Reply

