About the Post

Author Information

Morality Bites: A Critical Issue

Morality Bites Questions:

  1. What about humanizing or naming the animals to be slaughtered (pig [Bristley], cow [Whitey], fish [Floppy], chicken [Fluffy])?  Should empathy play a role?

I personally think that the author is really trying to make a connection to the animals before they are killed. This way she can use this personal connection to truly make a choice about what she feels is the right thing to do. The author truly wants to appreciate her food and where it comes from, but it also sounds as if she has a self imposed moral obligation as a food writing journalist, to understand where the food she is not only eating but also writing about comes from. I respect her for this.

I think that having empathy has a place but it shouldn’t necessarily be in a situation like this. Empathizing with the animal I think would just make it harder to eat it, and I think that the author understands this because she doesn’t want her daughter to play with the next “fluffy”. Empathy is important but I think that it has a time and a place, and this could be why she had such a hard time with eating the crabs. Her son asked her to look each one of them in the eyes and tell them what was going to happen to them. While it is showing respect for the crab it is also taking a toll on her because she is empathizing with each crab.

  1. Should we or should we not know where our food comes from?  What difference does it make?

I personally think that we should be allowed to know where our food comes from. I think this way because of a health and safety concern for myself and the animal; but also because I think that it is important to know what goes into what I am eating. I would like to know what the animal is eating because I would like to know what I am going to be eating by proxy. Don’t get me wrong I love corn but if I was forced to eat it while standing in my own filth and being shot full of drugs, I don’t think I would love corn anymore.

I really do think that there is a taste difference; I am not sold on a quality difference and I don’t think that it should be nearly as much as it is but organic, grass feed, farm raised, or free range does taste better. The meat doesn’t look as “bad” as the mass market meat does half the time as well. I also think that the grass feed meat cooks better then the mass market meat. Looking at it another way, any hunter will tell you that wild game always taste better then farmed.

  1. What is the morality of killing your own food? Why do some of us feel guilty about killing animals for food?

I don’t think there is a morality in killing your own food, and if there is there shouldn’t be. As a people we have always been killing and eating our own food. If put in a situation that I had to kill my own food I would not have a problem with it. This could be because of going hunting with my grandpa. I will show respect for the animal that I am going to eat but I would still kill it and eat it.

I don’t know why some people feel guilty about killing animals for food, but I can respect their decision to not killing animals. Unless they are still going eat that animal, because I do think that if you are going to eat it you should be able to watch it be killed or kill it yourself. If you don’t want to kill the animal because you feel guilty about eating it don’t then turn around and eat it.

  1. Should small children be involved in the process?

I think that is a choice for the parent to make based on the child. If the child is old enough to understand that death is a part of life then they should get to make their own choice. Children need to know where their food comes from just as much as we do and they should have a right to make the same choice we do when it comes to what we eat. I wouldn’t let me child actually kill the animal but I would let him watch if that was what they wanted to do. Eating animals is a part of our life and having a better understanding of what goes on helps us make choices about how and what we eat. Why shouldn’t our kids have the right to know and see the same information as us adults? The author in the book gave her kids this choice and, at least as far as we know, they are still mentally healthy.

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”,”serif”;}

Morality Bites Questions:

  1. What about humanizing or naming the animals to be slaughtered (pig [Bristley], cow [Whitey], fish [Floppy], chicken [Fluffy])?  Should empathy play a role?
    1. I personally think that the author is really trying to make a connection to the animals before they are killed. This way she can use this personal connection to truly make a choice about what she feels is the right thing to do. The author truly wants to appreciate her food and where it comes from, but it also sounds as if she has a self imposed moral obligation as a food writing journalist, to understand where the food she is not only eating but also writing about comes from. I respect her for this.

 

I think that having empathy has a place but it shouldn’t necessarily be in a situation like this. Empathizing with the animal I think would just make it harder to eat it, and I think that the author understands this because she doesn’t want her daughter to play with the next “fluffy”. Empathy is important but I think that it has a time and a place, and this could be why she had such a hard time with eating the crabs. Her son asked her to look each one of them in the eyes and tell them what was going to happen to them. While it is showing respect for the crab it is also taking a toll on her because she is empathizing with each crab.

  1. Should we or should we not know where our food comes from?  What difference does it make?
    1. I personally think that we should be allowed to know where our food comes from. I think this way because of a health and safety concern for myself and the animal; but also because I think that it is important to know what goes into what I am eating. I would like to know what the animal is eating because I would like to know what I am going to be eating by proxy. Don’t get me wrong I love corn but if I was forced to eat it while standing in my own filth and being shot full of drugs, I don’t think I would love corn anymore.

 

I really do think that there is a taste difference; I am not sold on a quality difference and I don’t think that it should be nearly as much as it is but organic, grass feed, farm raised, or free range does taste better. The meat doesn’t look as “bad” as the mass market meat does half the time as well. I also think that the grass feed meat cooks better then the mass market meat. Looking at it another way, any hunter will tell you that wild game always taste better then farmed.

  1. What is the morality of killing your own food? Why do some of us feel guilty about killing animals for food?
    1. I don’t think there is a morality in killing your own food, and if there is there shouldn’t be. As a people we have always been killing and eating our own food. If put in a situation that I had to kill my own food I would not have a problem with it. This could be because of going hunting with my grandpa. I will show respect for the animal that I am going to eat but I would still kill it and eat it.

 

I don’t know why some people feel guilty about killing animals for food, but I can respect their decision to not killing animals. Unless they are still going eat that animal, because I do think that if you are going to eat it you should be able to watch it be killed or kill it yourself. If you don’t want to kill the animal because you feel guilty about eating it don’t then turn around and eat it.

  1. Should small children be involved in the process?
    1. I think that is a choice for the parent to make based on the child. If the child is old enough to understand that death is a part of life then they should get to make their own choice. Children need to know where their food comes from just as much as we do and they should have a right to make the same choice we do when it comes to what we eat. I wouldn’t let me child actually kill the animal but I would let him watch if that was what they wanted to do. Eating animals is a part of our life and having a better understanding of what goes on helps us make choices about how and what we eat. Why shouldn’t our kids have the right to know and see the same information as us adults? The author in the book gave her kids this choice and, at least as far as we know, they are still mentally healthy.
Tags: , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

