About the Post

Author Information

NECI: Chasing a Dream

Today is the last day of on-ground classes. I am sitting in the classroom early like I have done for almost every class here at NECI. While this is my last day of on-ground classes I still have my last internship at Amangiri and 9 months of on-line classes before I am actually done and graduated, but how the time has flown by. When I first left home to come up to school in 2010 I had no idea what to expect. I had a dream of becoming a chef and that is what I set out to do. I was chasing my dream and along the way I created this blog. This has been my way of reaching out to my friends and family back home but also a way for me to keep track of the memories I made while in school. There are so many stories and events that I could have talked about but didn’t because I wanted to make this a bit more of a professional outlet. The fact still remains that I can go back and look at any post on here and remember what was going on around that time. Think of these post as important or fun events that I shared with all of you.

Then we come to the people I met and worked with everyday. Some who will be friends for life and other who I can’t wait to never talk to again. I remember how I met each one of you but it started out with two….After meeting these three I met her soon to be husband and there is another friend that I will have for life. There are other people who I met and while we might not have been the best of friends we where the Kansas brothers. It was interesting to see how the two of us tried to compete with each other but it was always in good fun. there was also the fun times that I had when we figured out that a dry erase marker and a bald head…

There have been floods, and carnivals while I have been up here in Montpelier, but for the most part the times have been great. I will miss the most of the staff here at NECI as well, especially the ladies of Career Services. I have made contacts here that will last a lifetime and at this point in time it feels a little bit surreal. I worked my ass off and I feel that it has paid off. I learned a ton and pushed myself very hard each day. I chased my dream and it has come time to go out and make it a reality, and I will be back up in Vermont next year to walk across the stage at graduation. I am feeling a little nostalgic and today could not be a better day to end my on-ground class with, because I could not have asked for a more rewarding and gratifying birthday present.

Thank you Chef Fan’s for following and commenting on all of my post for the last few years. It has been a blast and I can’t wait to see what my future holds. Stay tuned Chef Fan’s the fun is just getting started and the next chapter is begging just as it started with a road-trip  across the country…

Tags: , , , ,

One Comment on “NECI: Chasing a Dream”

  1. Grandma June 22, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

    Grant, I read your blog and it brought tears to my eyes. How fast the time has flown and what you have learned and achieved is “absolutely fabulous” I know this is just the beginning of great things. We love you and are very proud of you

Leave a Reply

