About the Post

Author Information

Day 1

The first day can be the hardest day of a new job but yesterday was actually surprisingly fun. I think the thing that can make the first day hard is that you don’t know anyone and don’t know what to do yet. However when you are literally thrown into the fire and all you can do is really just let your skills kick in it makes day one a lot easier.

The day started out as normal for the first day of the job, paperwork and a tour of where I would be working. I was then told that I would be shadowing the person who cooks all the sides and plates everything before it goes out to the guest. This works for me because this means that I get to learn the menu that much faster. What is a better way to learn the menu then to have to cook and plate each item on it before it goes out? I am not going to say that I know the menu inside and out but I feel that I know it better then I would have if I had just been handed a copy of it and told “Okay, memorize this before your next shift”. I like being put into a sink or swim type of situation because it challenges me and forces me to prove that I was the right hire for the job. I may have been a little bit slow and I know that I made a few mistakes but for the first day I was very proud of the job I did.

I go in at 2pm today and will be working a new station tonight, let the fun continue!

3 Comments on “Day 1”

  1. Tori July 14, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

    I’m glad it was a fun first day! Tonight will be just as awesome. 🙂

  2. Grandma July 16, 2012 at 11:16 am #

    I love your enthuism

  3. Andy July 17, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

    Glad you are enjoying yourself!!

Leave a Reply

