About the Post

Author Information

I don’t know what to call this post….

Hello again Chef Fans! It has been a fun few weeks of working and I am getting used to the new job. We are also adjusting to living in AZ, although Malcolm may be having a easier time of it then Tori and myself are. He loves to try and catch the lizards that run around all over the place. They are too fast for him and small enough to run under the legs of the table and chairs that are on our front porch. It is really funny to watch him run around the table a few times before the lizard runs off the porch and he gets stopped by the fence. The best part is that sometimes they will stop right out of his reach and do little lizard push-ups. We think this is a sign of challenge or dominance in lizard culture but we don’t really know.

Tori was nervous at first about living in the desert because she didn’t know if it would be as pretty as living up in New England. While our apartment doesn’t have a view of Lake Powell all we have to do is step to the edge of our porch and look to the right to see this…

Needless to say Tori and myself are very happy with where we live and are just starting to explore the surrounding area. One of the best parts about living where we do is having to drive home in the pitch black of night. I have always liked to look at the stars but I have never been able to look at the stars like I have out here. You can see millions of them, and this is nothing compared to the sunrise and sunsets out here.

Lets talk about Amangiri for a little bit shall we? We do have to drive to work each day but it isn’t really a bad drive and only takes about 15 minutes. When the staff arrives at work we park and get changed at the service building which is only another 5 minutes away from the resort. This last 5 minute drive is taken by a shuttle that leaves on the 15 and 45 of every hour. When we actually get to work we have a hallway that takes every staff member under the resort itself and is the main walkway for staff to get around. I have been working mostly nights with a few morning shifts tossed in every now and again. I haven’t started taking pictures yet but I will be soon so that you can all see what I am talking about in a later post.

That is all for now Chef Fans as I said stay tuned for later post from all of the fun that is going on down here in AZ.

2 Comments on “I don’t know what to call this post….”

  1. Grandma July 25, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    Grant, When your grandfather Larry and I first moved to Arizona, I thought we were crazy, but absolutely fell in love with the desert and the cactus and flowers, and birds and the sunrises and sunsets. I hope you learn to love it to. Grandma.

  2. Tori July 27, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

    I agree, AZ is pretty. It’s a totally different kind of pretty from New England, but I love it so far. 🙂 I think we need to go for a nice hike some day this coming week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

