About the Post

Author Information

A Transition Time

Hello again from sunny Arizona Chef Fans! As the first month of working out here in Amangiri is almost at a close I think it is only fair to talk about what I have been doing and to also talk about the goings on in the kitchen. Work has been fun, I really like working at Amangiri and one of the reasons is that it is “new” everyday that I work. I say it is new because each day we have specials, a new soup and fresh made pasta.  It is also new each day because I do not know where I will be working that night, as I am more of a floating employee. I fill in where it is needed, but this is a good thing because it means that I get to learn and work on every station that the kitchen has. Granted this has made the learning curve a bit steeper because I don’t get to repeat the same job as the day before but it is all coming together.

This brings me to the next topic I would like to talk about today; Transition. When I first started work we had and still have a consultant chef. His job was to come into Amangiri and keep the kitchen running smoothly while it looked to hire a new Chef. The new chef has been hired but does not start until the end of this month. It will be interesting to see what this new chef brings to the table and how he runs his kitchen. However while we wait for the new chef to start we are still working with the consulting chef, and this has made things somewhat interesting. One of the problems with this industry is that for every chef there is a different way of doing the same task. This makes things very complex and sometimes much more complicated then they need to be. I don’t know if the consulting chef just doesn’t care as much because he knows he will not be here for very much longer or if this is just how he likes to run things, but working with him has been stressful and very unorganized. It feels like he really doesn’t care what is going on in the kitchen and is just doing the barest job he has to at managing the kitchen.

This is why this first month has been interesting but then again I know that it is Amangiri’s busiest time of the year. Any sort of transition is going to make things interesting and when you add an increased business on top of it it also adds stress. We shall see what the future brings but for now that is all. Later Chef Fans!

Tags: ,

One Comment on “A Transition Time”

  1. Tori August 9, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

    I’m excited to see how this new chef changes things! He won’t just be affecting the kitchen, but the front of house as well. This is certainly going to be interesting for everyone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

