About the Post

Author Information

Capstone Project Finished!!

Hello again my loyal Chef Fan’s! While things might not be slowing down at work and are in fact getting busier now that the holidays are almost here, one thing has changed. I am done with my capstone class!!!! For the last 12 weeks I have been working like a dog on my Capstone Project which you can read in full by clicking on that link. I sadly didn’t really enjoy this project as I have said in other post, but I am still proud of the menu I came up with. While I don’t expect anyone to go in and read my project I would still like to post my menu and tell you all a little bit about the concept that I created.

The concept that I created is called Pairings on the Plaza, and while it might be a completely fictional concept with no actual recipe or food costing, I still think the idea is solid. I created my concept in the heart of the Kansas City Plaza, and while I am using a location that already has a restaurant at it, I am taking it from the perspective that I was able to buy and use this location. Didn’t I say that it was completely fictional? Pairings is a fine dining restaurant focused on pairing three things, Nose to Tail cooking, Beverage Pairings, and Finishing Salts. The salt is paired with each dish on the menu but the beverages would be paired at the time of ordering as you would expect to happen. As the cuisine is Nose to Tail I am not shy about putting items like heart and brain on the menu but there are enough “safe” food items that guest who may not be as interested  in a Nose or a Tail will still have plenty of options. Speaking of the menu I think it is time that I showed off what I have been really working on and “making” for the last 12 weeks….

front cover of menu

page 1

page 2

page 3

page 4

If anyone is really interested I did put a lot of thought into my Capstone Project and if anyone would like to read about the concept and all of it’s components then please click the link. I will be taking a much needed break from anything even looking like school work at this point and time but I will be here making post again as I did in ages past. Until then Chef Fan’s!!

Tags: , ,

2 Comments on “Capstone Project Finished!!”

  1. Tori December 22, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

    I know you were stressed and aggravated throughout this whole project and class, but it really turned out wonderfully! You put more effort into your schoolwork than anyone I know, and it shows in the quality and thoroughness of it.

    • Grandma December 27, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

      I loved Tori’s reply and it goes for me also. You work harder and put your heart in what you do and it definiately shows. I am so proud of you sweetheart. Wish we could have been together through the holidays, but know you have things to finish and that is a priority. Parings on the Plaza, does that mean your coming back to KC. Wow would I love that. 🙂 Loved the cheeses you sent Mom for Christmas. The blue was to die for, but also the goat cheese was wonderful. That made you a part of our Christmas even though you were there in heart only. Much love Grandma

Leave a Reply

